Book Review: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

This extraordinary work–echoing Plath’s own experiences as a rising writer/editor in the early 1950s–chronicles the nervous breakdown of Esther Greenwood: brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, successful, but slowly going under, and maybe for the last time.

I was pleasantly surprised while reading this book, not with the subject matter at hand obviously, but I was glad that I could enjoy the book. Esther Greenwood at times reminded me of myself when I was going through a introspective stage of life. She’s not what one would call a person of privilege, but she does have wits and talent about her that allow her to gain opportunities to move up in life.

I found Esther to be quite normal at the beginning of the story, with just a touch of a rebellious nature. She doesn’t seem as though she wants to fit in, but at the same time she’s not at the opposite end of the spectrum either, so that leaves her in the middle feeling like she can’t relate to her peers. There’s not much I can say that would make this review remain spoiler-free. But I particularly enjoyed Esther’s subtle descent into madness.

I found it hard to keep track of her thoughts sometimes, but that just pulled me in more to what she was feeling at the time of her decline. There were many events that triggered her depression and I was shocked by a few of them, and even more so shocked with the nonchalant air Esther seemed to treat them with. She was a very strange character to read about, yet one the reader can still relate to on a human level. She’s by no means perfect, and at times not too likable, but that just made her a more real person to read about.

I enjoyed the read and if you’ve ever had a similar decline you’ll most likely enjoy this book.

The Bell Jar

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

 

 

 

Review to come:

Colin FischerColin Fischer by Ashley Edward Miller

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

