Book Review: Coraline by Neil Gaiman

When Coraline steps through a door to find another house strangely similar to her own (only better), things seem marvelous.

But there’s another mother there, and another father, and they want her to stay and be their little girl. They want to change her and never let her go.

Coraline will have to fight with all her wit and courage if she is to save herself and return to her ordinary life.

Usually I’ve read the book before I’ve seen the movie, this wasn’t the case when it came to Coraline. I absolutely LOVED the film, it was creepy and interesting, and just a lot of fun to watch. So going into this book, I had pretty high expectations of it. I figured that the book is almost always better than the film, so this has to be one heck of a story.

It really is a great book, but it just wasn’t what I expected. I thought the creepiness of the story would be more prevalent than it actually was, and there were a lot of differences from the film. So that of course took a while to get used to. But once I was into the story it was such a wonderful delight.

I really enjoy creepy stories, and though this didn’t really creep me out, the subtlety of it was quite nice. There were a few scenes of course that had me a bit paranoid, and I really enjoyed those the most.

My advice to anyone going in to read this that has seen the movie first, go in expecting a completely different story! They felt very different to me, but I loved them both.

Coraline

Coraline by Neil Gaiman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

 

Review to come:

Breed: A NovelBreed: A Novel by Chase Novak

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

